The Ten Thousand Doors of January begins as a simple adventure, but like its mysteriously transportive doors, leads deeper and deeper the further you read. “Dealing with ghosts was like riding the subway: Do not make eye contact. When she's 17, her father seemingly disappears, and January finds a book that will change her life forever.

If Trees Could Talk: Life Lessons from the Wisdom of the Woods. January is incredibly taken with The Ten Thousand Doors. Leigh Bardugo. Please try your request again later. The Ten Thousand Doors of January is a deftly-written portal fantasy novel that can attract both old and new readers of the genre. January appears to have a charmed childhood but is stifled by the high-society old boy’s club of Mr. Locke and his friends, who treat her as a curiosity—a mixed-race girl with a precocious streak, forced into elaborate outfits and docile behavior for the annual society gatherings. Not only a guide to the passages and portals between our world and others, it tells the story of the life of a young woman named Adelaid Lee Larson, who discovered some Doors of her own.

If you like. Categories:

I do feel like this book takes you on quite the adventure, but for some reason, I was not in love with it.

In the case of The Ten Thousand Doors of January, a book I am currently reading, Shutterstock is credited along with a graphic designer. Your recently viewed items and featured recommendations, Select the department you want to search in. You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition. Skilled with words, languages come easily to him. It will be another ten years before she learns the true nature of Doors through a strange book she stumbles across. One day, she finds a Door, but it disappears after she tells her guardian about it.

Following the initial email, you will be contacted by the shop to confirm that your item is available for collection. Harrow employs the image of the door (“Sometimes I feel there are doors lurking in the creases of every sentence, with periods for knobs and verbs for hinges”) as well as the metaphor (a “geometry of absence”) to great effect.

Author: Alix E. Harrow The story is set in the early 1900’s, which I loved because history is totally my thing. A burning secret.

There's a problem loading this menu at the moment. Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. ISBN: 9780356512464 I should add that I very rarely give up on a book (rare as hens teeth) but there are too many brilliant books just waiting to be read to waste anymore time trawling through this rubbish, sorry! All Rights Reserved. But her quiet existence is shattered when she stumbles across a strange book. A dangerous task. January knows the book must be true, because she once saw such a Door. The site uses cookies to offer you a better experience.

Something went wrong.

If you like The Ten Thousand Doors Of January Book by Alix E. Harrow. Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. The way she looks affects her situation, and she notices that the people stubbornly upholding the status quo are white (and often male and old). By continuing to browse the site you accept our Cookie Policy, you can change your settings at any time. Harry Potter and the Cursed Child - Parts One and Two, Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone: MinaLima Edition. Unable to add item to List. The decision she makes affects not only her, but all of the people in her life (and many beyond it). 32 questions answered. . It’s free and takes less than 10 seconds!

Late Crossword Clue, Aviation Gin Sold, West Bengal Lok Sabha Seats 2019 Map, The Mixed-up Chameleon Story Pdf, Automattic Stock Symbol, Semi Homemade Banana Pudding, Strawberry Papaya Tree For Sale, Harley-davidson Road King Price, Kenstar Double Cool Dx Cooler Stand, Mauve Brand Top, When Does A Child Identify With A Gender, The Wolf's Fate Failed, Population Of Ashanti Region 2020, Xiaomi Mi 10 Ultra Price Philippines, Terpenes And What They Do, Cma Institute In Pakistan, Society Portrayed In Sudraka's Mrichchhakatika, Architecture Competitions 2021, Filipino Bbq Recipe Pineapple Juice, Microwaves And Water, Sunflower Oil Price, Killer Sprite Pork Adobo, The World Of Cyberpunk 2077 Dark Horse, Throwing Up White Foam In The Morning Human, Captain America With Mjolnir Wallpaper, Ramen Noodle Chips Recipe, Benefits Of Rosemary Infused Water, No-knead Dutch Oven Bread Variations, Plastic Milk Bottle Dimensions, Down Meaning In Gujarati, Alwyn Home Bed Frames, North Philadelphia Station, Cannondale Scalpel-si Carbon 3 2017, Uses Of Pigeon Pea, Udi's Blueberry Muffin Directions, I Want To Be A Butterfly Because, Masala Khichdi With Toor Dal, Redundant Meaning In Urdu, Applesauce Blueberry Muffins, Dichloromethane Ir Spectrum, Bible Verses Exodus 14:14, Cheese Commodity Prices, Mental Arithmetic 1, Should I Pay To Be In A Mastermind Group, Sizes Of Alcohol Bottles, Mane Tea For Hair Growth, Preheating Enamel Dutch Oven For Bread, Courses And Their Subjects, Lyin' Eyes Guitar Sheet Music, Gw2 Karma Ascended Gear, Chris Attoh Movies On Netflix, Iced Honey Lavender Latte, Funfetti Cream Cheese, Bridge Closures Nyc Today, Woocommerce Rest Api Get Products By Category, Where Are You Now Somewhere In The Night, West Bengal District List 2020, Computer Desks Uk, Rune King Thor Vs Cosmic Armor Superman Who Wins, All Pork Hot Dogs, Biggie, Brooklyn Lyrics,